Fitzrovia galleries update, December 2015

Fitzrovia has a lively art scene that has grown from only eight commercial galleries in 2008 to over 50 in 2015, with an additional 30 establishments that have opened and closed during this period.

Lobster watercolour.

Lobster (watercolour on paper 25x25cm) by Albany Wiseman at “The Miniature Show: an exhibition of miniature works by 21 artists”, Curwen Gallery, 44 Windmill Street, from 3 to 23 December 2015.

Around 10 per cent of all London galleries are now located in Fitzrovia, and Eastcastle Street and its environs is being heralded as the new Cork Street.

Galleries have re-located from other parts of the city, notably Mayfair and the East End, in addition to an influx of overseas galleries from as far afield as Japan, Korea, Switzerland and Turkey.

Fitzrovia has many attractions for art galleries. Commercial property is relatively cheap, given its central location, and the exodus of the rag trade has left many desirable showroom spaces.  The rich mix of companies specialising in advertising, architecture and design provide an existing arts hub and an appropriate and stimulating context for art.

Many are also attracted by the impressive list of artists that lived or worked here: from Hogarth and Constable through Whistler and Sickert  to John and The Bloomsbury Group, not forgetting the English Surrealists who met weekly at the Horseshoe Hotel on Tottenham Court Road, and more recently conceptual artist Cerith Wyn Evans.

All this activity is creating new gallery history as several operations have taken over existing gallery premises: Richard Saltoun was David Roberts Foundation and Berloni was Margaret Street Gallery. In 2011, only Rebecca Hossack had two gallery spaces in Fitzrovia, but now Rook and Raven has opened in Evelyn Yard, tucked away between Rathbone Place and Gresse Street.

Below is the full list of Fitzrovia art galleries as of 1 December 2015.

4 Windmill Street, 4 Windmill Street (http://www.4windmillstreet.com)

Adam Gallery, 67 Mortimer Street (http://www.adamgallery.com)

Alison Jacques Gallery, 18 BernersStreet (http://www.alisonjacquesgallery.com)

Art First, 21 Eastcastle Street (http://www.artfirst.co.uk)

Arup Phase 2, 8 Fitzroy Street (http://www.arup.com/phase 2)

Bartha Contemporary, 25 Margaret Street  (http://www.barthacontemporary.com)

Berloni, 63 Margaret Street (http://www.berlonigallery.com)

 Black Arts Company, 73 Great Titchfield Street (http://www.theblackarts.org)

Building Centre, Store Street (http://www.buildingcentre.co.uk)

Caroll / Fletcher, 56-57 Eastcastle Street (http://www.carrollfletcher.com)

Christine Park Gallery, 35 Riding House Street (http://www.christinepark.net)

Coningsby, 30 Tottenham Street (http://www.coningsbygallery.com)

Curwen Gallery, 34 Windmill Street (http://www.curwengallery.com)

Darren Baker Gallery, 81 Charlotte Street (http://darrenbakergallery.com/)

 Gallery Different, 14 Percy Street (http://www.gallerydifferent.co.uk)

Edel Assanti, 17A Newman Street (http://www.edelassanti.com)

Evelyn Yard, Evelyn Yard (http://www.evelynyard.com)

Exposure, 22-23 Little Portland Street (http://www.exposure.net)

Fitzrovia Gallery, 139 Whitfield Street (http://www.fitzroviagallery.co.uk)

Fold Gallery, 158 New Cavendish Street (http://www.foldgallery.com)

Framers Gallery, 36 Windmill Street (http://www.theframersgallery.co.uk)

 Getty Images Gallery, 46 Eastcastle Street (http://www.gettyimagesgallery.com)

GRAD, 3-4A Little Portland Street (http://www.grad-london.com)

Hanmi Gallery, 30 Maple Street (http://www.hanmigallery.co.uk)

Ibid, 27 Margaret Street (http://www.ibidprojects.com)

Gallery Libby Sellers, 41 Berners Street (http://www.libbysellers.com)

Josh Lilley, 44-46 Riding House Street (http://www.joshlilleygallery.com)

Lazarides Gallery, 11 Rathbone Place (http://www.lazinc.com)

Nancy Victor, 6 Charlotte Place (http://www.nancyvictor.com)

National Print Gallery, 56 Maple Street (http://www.nationalprintgallery.com)

Pi Artworks, 55 Eastcastle Street (http://www.piartworks.com)

 Pilar Corrias, 54 Eastcastle Street (http://www.pilarcorrias.com)

 Rebecca Hossack Gallery (1), 2a Conway Street (http://www.r-h-g.co.uk)

Rebecca Hossack Gallery (2), 28 Charlotte Street (http://www.r-h-g.co.uk)

Richard Saltoun, 111 Great Titchfield Street (http://www.richardsaltoun.com)

Riseart, 83 Great Titchfield Street (http://www.riseart.com)

Rook and Raven, 7/8 Rathbone Place (http://www.rookandraven.co.uk)

Rose Issa Projects, 82 Great Portland Street (http://www.roseissa.com)

Rosenfeld Porcini, 37 Rathbone Street (http://www.rosenfeldporcini.com)

RIBA, 66 Portland Place (http://www.architecture.com)

 Scream Gallery, 27-28 Eastcastle Street (http://www.whisperfineart.co.uk)

Store Street Gallery, 32 Store Street (http://www.storestreetgallery.com)

Tiwani Contemporary, 16 Little Portland Street (http://www.tiwani.co.uk)

T J Boulting, 59 Riding House Street (http://www.tjboulting.com)

 White Rainbow, 47 Mortimer Street (http://www.white-rainbow.co.uk)

 Woolff Gallery, 89 Charlotte Street (http://www.woolffgallery.co.uk)

%d bloggers like this: